The Commandant of the Nigerian Defence Academy (NDA) Major General JO Ochai, today 28 November, 2023 decorated 9 newly promoted Senior Non-Commissioned Officers (SNCOs) with their new ranks at a ceremony held at the Academy Drill Shed in Afaka. The promoted SNCOs included one Master Warrant Officer who was promoted to Army Warrant Officer (AWO), and 8 Warrant Officers who were promoted to the rank of Master Warrant Officer (MWO)

During the decoration ceremony, the Commandant expressed his joy in being part of the occasion and congratulated the newly promoted soldiers.He urged them to remain loyal, hardworking, and professional in their conduct. He also emphasized the importance of mentoring their subordinates and encouraged them to remain patriotic, committed, and responsible in their duties.

Highlighting the challenging security situation in the country, the Commandant called on the SNCOs to engage in activities that would add value to the Nigerian Defence Academy, the Armed Forces, and the nation as a whole. He reminded them that with their new ranks comes increased responsibility and the expectation of contributing positively towards the nation’s security.

The Commandant also reminded the SNCOs that promotion comes from God alone and wished them well in their new deserving ranks. He expressed gratitude to the spouses of the promoted soldiers for their support and for maintaining a stable home front while their husbands focused on their duties.

Lastly, the Commandant encouraged those who were not promoted to remain dedicated to their duties, reminding them that promotion comes in due time according to God’s plan. He assured them that their hard work and commitment will be recognized and rewarded.

The newly decorated SNCOs were Army Warrant Officer (AWO) Adetunji Ademola, Master Warrant Officer (MWO) Tanimu Badade, MWO Danjuma Yari, MWO Musa Yusuf, MWO Idara Achibong, MWO Allahoki Joseph, MWO Dangboyi Emmanuel, MWO Haruna Mohammed, and MWO Igoche Christian.

The event was attended by the Deputy Commandant Air Vice Marshal SK Aneke, Academy Provost, Professor Isa Garba,Principal Staff Officers, Chief Instructors, Commanding Officers as well spouses and relations of the celebrants amongst others.